Queenstown to Christchurch By Bus: Day 1

The trip from Queenstown to Christchurch by bus is one we’ve done before. Given the prices that some local New Zealand airlines charge for checked baggage, the bus is a good option if you want to bring more than just a carry-on pack. For this particular trip we’ve got to bring a suit and a cocktail dress, so suitcase it was.

We got an amazing deal on the fare from Queenstown to Christchurch with NakedBus. Even including booking fees, the total for our one-way journey was $14.99 NZD. Not bad, NakedBus, not bad. For those who are concerned or just wondering, nobody is actually naked on the bus.

Leaving Queenstown behind on the NakedBus, where there are not any actual naked people.

Leaving Queenstown behind on the NakedBus, where there are not any actual naked people.

The trip got off on the right foot, all right: we boarded, snuggled into our seats bright and early at 8:30am, and pulled out of the Athol Street bus stop, ready to begin our 30-day American adventure.

The bus broke down less than a block later.

Fortunately it turned out to be a minor issue: the driver had stalled the bus coming up to a roundabout, then it turns out the battery was too low to get us started again. I was half-asleep in the back so I’m not sure if she just got it going again on her own or if some kind soul jump-started us in the middle of Camp Street, but either way, we weren’t stalled for too long. And kudos to the driver for having a sense of humour about it.

From there on out it was smooth sailing (driving?) and we actually got to our destination early.

This bus trip has short 5-10 minute restroom stops in Wanaka, Omarama, a half-hour lunch stop at Lake Tekapo, and one in Ashburton as well.

Lake Wanaka from where the bus stops.

Lake Wanaka from where the bus stops.

Morghan and I are both presently recovering from a nasty flu, so I have to admit I spent most of the gorgeous bus ride asleep. This is a shame, because it really is a great drive. The bus was clean, comfy, climate-controlled, and cheaper than my lunch, so I really can’t complain. For comparison, two one-way flights including a checked suitcase from Queenstown to Christchurch would likely run about $70-90 NZD per person, so $14.99 for two people and our bag was next to nothing.

Overall, the bus ride was about eight hours long not counting our brief interlude on Camp Street. But the coach was a nice modern one with super plush seats and massive windows for ogling the countryside, so even after settling in at our hotel in Christchurch I really don’t feel like I rode a bus that long.

I managed to snap a few meagre phone photos and normally would have had a wander about with my camera, but again, I spent almost the entire journey napping. Whoops.

I don't know the name of this fine, turquoise body of water because I slept through knowing where I was.

I don’t know the name of this fine, turquoise body of water because I slept through knowing where I was.

We’ll be staying overnight in Christchurch and from there we fly to Sydney at 7:00am sharp. This means we have to be on our shuttle by 4:20am in order to arrive for the 5:00am check-in. Oof. But I have definitely suffered worse, and there’s free wifi there, so it’s not a total loss.

Not sure when I’ll get a chance to update again. May be Australia, may be the US. See you soon!

Leave a comment